Two New Wild River Areas Declared in the Lake Eyre Basin Two New Wild River Areas Declared in the Lake Eyre Basin

On Friday, December 16, 2011 the Cooper Creek Basin Wild River Declaration and the Georgina and Diamantina Basins Wild River Declaration came into effect.

The Wild River Declarations and a range of supporting material are available on the department’s website at:

The supporting material includes a consultation report for each declaration.  The reports summarise the issues raised during the consultation process and describe how issues have been dealt with. 

In accordance with the Wild Rivers Act 2005, Council has made available hard copies of the documents below at its Visitor Information Centres in both Bedourie and Birdsville. 

An online mapping tool is available at:  The Wild Rivers Mapping tool will show the location and extent of the wild river management areas in relation to a property or mining tenure. Property maps can be created by property description, while mining or petroleum tenure maps can be produced using tenure information. Spatial coordinates can also be used to produce a map, though these maps do not display mining tenures.

Members of the public can also access wild river spatial layers at the Queensland Government Information Service:

For more information about the declarations, or wild rivers in general, please contact a Wild Rivers Officer via email:; or by telephone on: (07) 4222 5533

Documents Available Documents Available

Public Consultation - Wild River Declaration Proposal