Elected Representatives

Role of Councillors

The role of each Councillor is to represent the interests and concerns of the local community as a whole. The Diamantina Shire Council is represented by five elected members, including the mayor and four councillors. Voters across the Shire elect the Mayor and Councillors and have a responsibility to the Shire as a whole. All Council Members are elected for a four-year term of office.

Councillor Conduct Register

Role of the Mayor

In addition to the above, the Mayor presides at and is responsible for the orderly conduct of meetings of the Local Government. The Mayor ensures that the decisions made are carried out and provides appropriate representation at civic or ceremonial functions.


Cr Francis Murray (Mayor)

Cr Damien Watson (Deputy Mayor)

Cr Damian Clarke

Cr Kerry Morton

Cr Robert Dare