About Council

Welcome to the Diamantina Shire, famed for its endless horizons and big skies.

Diamantina Shire consists of three towns: Birdsville, Bedourie, and Betoota. Birdsville and Bedourie are serviced by REX (Regional Express) with two Brisbane-Mount Isa return flights a week.

Despite its size, Birdsville - located 1600km west of Brisbane - is a well-known destination for many Australian and international visitors. The town hosts a horse-race meeting once a year when thousands of people swell the town’s population. It is the gateway to Munga-Thirri Simpson Desert National Park and the start of the famous Birdsville Track that was historically used as a stock route for moving cattle from Queensland to the southern markets.

Bedourie is the shire’s administration centre. The town boasts many amenities including aquatic centre, hot artesian spa, and community hall. A little-known fact about Bedourie is that it is likely the first town in Queensland to be established by a woman.

Betoota township comprises just one building, the historic hotel, and was famed for many decades for its population of one.

The shire’s wealth lies within its cattle industry, tourism, and natural environment. Located within Queensland’s Channel Country, bordering South Australia and the Northern Territory, this area is renowned for producing prime quality beef. The natural irrigation from the Diamantina and Georgina River systems supports an organic cattle industry.

We are fortunate that national parks comprise twenty-five percent of the shire’s area. The Munga-Thirri Simpson Desert, Diamantina National Park, and Astrebela Downs National Park all offer exceptional scenery and wildlife for visitors to experience.

Visit the Diamantina Shire for a unique outback experience.

Mayor Francis Murray

Diamantina Shire